How phone dependent have we become?

  • Who is this post for? Everyone
  • What does it discuss? It talks about a photo series warning us of over-dependence on smartphones
  • How does it benefit you? Fresh perspective

Smartphones are central to our lives, beyond just chatting and texting. In observation of this behaviour, photographer Kamil Kotarba has created a photo series satirising just how phone dependent we’ve become.

“It’s pretty trivial, but I was motivated by observing my behaviour and the behaviour of people who surround me,” Kotarba told The Huffington Post. “I’ve noticed that,  involuntarily, I use my smartphone every now and again. Without any reason, just to check Facebook’s newsfeed, watch Instagram photos or just slide finger across the screen, thoughtlessly. The technology changed my daily behavior.”

Kotarba posed his friends in public spaces holding their phones, then photographed the space again without any subjects in it. He superimposed the two images together in Photoshop.

In the resulting series, “Hide and Seek,” Kotarba depicts bodiless hands hovering above couches, floating in men’s restrooms. Each is clutching a smartphone, making the artist’s statement clear: our phones haven’t just become extensions of ourselves. They’ve replaced our individual identities.

But, Kotarba said, he didn’t mean for his series to come across as preachy. “I just tried to take portraits of the phenomenon, and provoke reflection,” he says.

Leave a comment